Dominica Golden Drum Awards 2017

Published by: ComeSeeTv
05/08/2017 08:00 PM - 05/08/2017 11:59 PM -
Views: 629

The Golden Drum Awards was established to recognize groups, institutions and individuals who have made important contributions to the development of the arts and culture in Dominica.

This year, the Golden Drum Awards will be presented to the following;

1. The First Serenade Band of Pointe Michel for music development through the years,
2. Derrick ‘Rah’ Peters of WCK and now Original Bouyon Pioneers theme,
3. Denis Joseph, former manager of DBS, former manager of Gaylord’s Power Union,
4. Norris Guiste of the Petite Savanne Cultural Group and also a teacher of the traditional art form in Dominica,
5. Theresa Mondaisie of Woodford Hill a veteran belle dancer practically for her whole life, and
6. Carlton Merrifield also known as ‘abbyoo’ of Grand Bay, who plays for the Tradibelle and Dubique Cultural Groups. He’s a veteran belle drummer.

Special Recognition Awards will be presented to the following;

1. Cornelius Royer, who is the leader of the Capuchin Cultural Group,
2. The Convent High School for its consistent and sustained involvement in development of arts and culture in Dominica,
3. The Afri-Culture Stilt Walkers for the promotion of bwa bwa and involvement of carnival,
4. Mighty Acre of Scotts Head for his promotion of folk creole music, and
5. Loraine Delsol of Grand Bay for her years of promotion of Creole wear and even when as she is oversees in Canada promoting Dominica’s arts and culture oversees as well.

View it on the via NCC Dominica Tv live streaming channel here:

Arawak House of Culture, Roseau, Dominica

Related events